Four Bagatelles

Full title Four Bagatelles for four violins (or clarinets) and piano
Date composed 1941
Details 1. Romance
2. Menuetto
3. Solemn March
4. Norwegian Dance

Composition begun in September 1941 and completed on 13 December. Weigl subsequently arranged no. 4 for piano four hands (see Norwegian Dance). An arrangement of the work for woodwind quintet (flute, clarinet, oboe, bassoon, horn) and piano also exists, but this version seems to have been done after the composer's death by Vally Weigl or someone commissioned by her.
Performance duration: ca. 4 min.
Manuscript sources NYPL JOB 73-132, holograph score (4 separate unnumbered folded folios), with a completion date at the end of each movement—for Romance: 23.[?]/XI. 1941 / KW; for Menuetto: 27./XI. 1941; for Solemn March (here titled Funeral March): 10./XII. / KW; and for Norwegian Dance: 13./XII. / KW. The individual movements are titled, but there is no title page, or title, for the set. Additional composer's note at end of Romance: Lieber Herr Kaplan, Bitte tun Sie einen Blick auf diese kleine Frucht eines Regensonntags. Wenn Sie damit zufrieden sind, werde ich gern fortsetzen. Selbstverständlich bin ich für Kritik und etwas nötige Änderungen dankbar! Schönste Grüße von Ihrem ergebenen Karl Weigl.
See also NYPL JPB 99-7 no. 105, photocopy of copyist's score (8 folded leaves) titled 4 Short Pieces for 4 clarinets, or 4 violins, and piano / Karl Weigl. For a holograph of the arrangement for woodwind quintet (bassoon, clarinet, flute, horn, and oboe) and piano, see NYPL JPB 99-7 no. 106, photocopy of a manuscript score (8 pages), titled 4 Bagatelles for woodwind quintet and piano; the title page also bears the note: arrangement posthumus [sic].
Availabiity Score and parts for original version available from ACA and KWF.