Ten Songs

Full title Ten Songs for medium voice and piano / Zehn Lieder für eine mittlere Stimme und Klavier
Date composed 1906
Details 1 Es war ein alter König
2 Der Abend kommt gezogen
3 Mit deinen blauen Augen
4 Durch den Wald
5 Mag da draussen Schnee sich thürmen
6 Andre beten zur Madonne
7 Hast du die Lippen mir wund geküsst
8 Sehnsüchtelei
9 Mein Liebchen, wir sassen beisammen
10 Ja, du bist elend

Eight of the ten songs (these later given the numbers 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 9, and 10, in addition to a song on text beginning “Schau”) were composed in 1906 and completed in October of that year.
Texts by Heinrich Heine.
Manuscript sources NYPL JOB 73-104, working holographs (on separate folios collected within one folded folio) of the eight unnumbered songs indicated above; KW note on title page: Wien, Oktober 1906. KW also noted completion dates at the conclusion of each of each of those eight songs: for what later became No. 1, 29./VII. 1906; for No. 2, 4./IX. 1906; for No. 3, 30./VIII. 1906; for No. 4, 9./IX. 1906; for No. 5, 21./IX. 1906; for “Schau” and No. 9, 5./X. 1906; for No. 10, 7./X. 1906. See also NYPL JPB 99-7 no. 37, a clean holograph score of all ten songs (32 pages, with some song numbering changes, as well as title and texts, in another hand)
Publication details Not published in composer's lifetime.
Availabiity Photocopy of composer's clean holograph score available from KWF.