String Sextet

Full title String Sextet in D Minor / Streichsextett D-moll
Date composed 1906
Details Composition completed June 1906; later revised by the composer as Rhapsodie für Streichorchester op. 30 / Rhapsody for string orchestra op. 30.
Performance duration: ca. 28 min.
Manuscript sources NYPL JOB 73-143, holograph score (48 pages), with composer's note on title page: Wien, Juni 1906; see also ÖNB Mus.Hs.36836, holograph[?] copy of score; and ÖNB Mus.Hs.36837, holograph[?] parts.
Publication details Universal Edition, 1935: full score of Rhapsodie für Streichorchester [Streichsextett D-moll] (U.E. 10245). For more information see Rhapsody for string orchestra.
Performances (click icon to expand or collapse list)
13 November 1907*** Vienna, Bösendorfer Saal: expanded Rosé Quartet (Arnold Rosé, Paul Fischer, Anton Ruzitska, Friedrich Buxbaum, Franz Jelineck, Franz Schmidt). Also on program: Beethoven, String Quartet op. 130.
19 February 1919 Vienna, Konzert der Zeitschrift “Der Anbruch”: Rosé Quartet (Arnold Rosé, Paul Fischer, Anton Ruzitska, Friedrich Buxbaum); Franz Klein, viola; Hermann Jellinek, cello. Also on program: works by Bernhard Paumgartner; Felicia Mihacsek; Wilhelm Groß; Claude Debussy.
3 October 2015 Schiermonnikoog, Netherlands, International Schiermonnikoog Music Festival: String Sextet, performed by Philippe Graffin, Alexandre Pascal, Roger Chase, Lilli Maijala, Jeroen Reuling, and Marcio Carneiro. Also on the program: Korngold, Marietta’s Lied from Die Tote Stadt; Josef Marx, “Durch Einsamkeiten” for mezzo-soprano, viola, and piano; and Schubert, Trio no. 2, D. 929.
29 March 2017 Saarbrücken, Germany, in the Gieseking Hall of the Hochschule für Musik Saarbrücken, at the Fourth Ensemble Concert Saarbrücken: String Sextet, performed by six musicians of the Saarbrücken Deutsche Radio Philharmonie (Gisela Arnold and Helmut Winkel, violin; Benjamin Rivinius and Jessica Sommer, viola; Mario Blaumer and Min-Jung Suh, violoncello). Also on the program: Richard Strauss, the string sextet from Capriccio; Anton Webern, String Trio op. 20; and Mozart, Adagio and Fugue in F Major KV 404a no. 3, and Adagio and Fugue in F Minor KV 404a no. 6. The concert was broadcast live, at 8 pm local time, on SR 2 KulturRadio, and available for 30 March to 7 April 2017 online at